10 ต.ค. 2019 เวลา 10:30 • สุขภาพ
[ENG] LOCAL PRODUCE: Why should we eat local produce rather than imported food? กินเฮลท์ตี้ทำไมต้องแพง มาทานอาหารจากวัตถุดิบที่หาได้ตามท้องถิ่นกันดีกว่า
Toronto, Canada
I met a Scottish guest at the restaurant the other day. She called “Australia” - where avocado grows well. And truthfully, almost every time I went to AUS, I had to carry at least 2 avocados back to Dubai. It’s so cheap and fresh. What I’m trying to say is that consuming local produce is the best. It’s best for your pocket and environment. I made this Avocado on Toast at home when I was in Portland for vacation. It’s only 1.50 USD or even cheaper for one serving.
HOW? ....
1. Local produce is fresh. I’m gna skip chemicals part which I’ll be talking about it later. The fresher, the better for your body and MIND. Theoretically, we should consume the product as soon as possible after it has been harvested from farm. Avocado and vegetables tend to go bad in few days even in a fridge. So before purchasing any fresh and perishable products, I had to also calculate flight time. If the flight time is too long, food might not be as fresh to consume.
Saturday Farmers’ Market (Portland, Oregon)
2. Local produce tends to be cheaper than those imports. Of course, we can skip the overseas transportation cost. So you save more money. I don’t buy any avocado when I’m in Thailand or Dubai unless I really need it. I rather eat morning glory (ผักบุ้ง) at 10 THB ... cheap, yummy and fresh. Who can resist Pad-Pak-Boong!? Lol
Saturday Farmers’ Market (Portland, Oregon)
3. Local produce is likely to have less additional toxic substances. In order to keep perishable product fresh for a certain period of time, the producer needs to add chemicals. For example, butterfish (ปลาจาระเม็ด) tends to go bad after a short while after caught, therefore, they add formaldehyde or ฟอร์มาลีน in order to preserve the freshness. Formaldehyde is not meant for living organisms to consume.
Saturday Farmers’ Market (Portland, Oregon)
4. Local produce might destroy the environment - in the sense that the products have to be put on the ship or plane or car in order to go from A to B. These vehicles emit CO2. We always emphasize on emitting less co2 but in this case, we, indirectly, become a CO2 main producer instead. Our action goes the opposite. .
I made this Avocado on Toast at home when I was in Portland for vacation. It’s only 1.50 USD or even cheaper for one serving.
In Thailand, we have such a variety of local produce that we can choose from. Enjoy seasonal freshness in a low budget. Save ur pockets for other stuffs 🤗.
Thank you for reading
Your Like and Follow would mean very much to me :)
IG: pakk.ti
โฆษณา