6 มิ.ย. 2022 เวลา 20:55 • ไลฟ์สไตล์
Breaking Free of Fear
Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.
(Ephesians 3:20)
Yesterday we discussed the fact that personality is often a factor when one spouse won’t talk. Today I want to address another common reason: fear. Perhaps in childhood, perhaps in a former marriage, or perhaps in your marriage your spouse has discovered that if he shares his true thoughts and feelings, it will likely cause an explosion. Not liking explosions, he clams up.
How do you overcome this shutdown? I suggest you begin with loving confrontation. Bring up the matter kindly. For example, you might say, “I want us to have a growing marriage, and I think you want the same. I feel that in the past when you have shared your ideas, you have experienced my wrath, or maybe a parent’s or someone else’s anger.
I don’t know about them, but I know that is not what I want. I am asking God to help me hear you. So could we begin by sharing just one event that has happened in our lives each day? I think this will get us on a positive track.” Your spouse will likely be relieved that you have brought up the topic and will be willing to try again. Remember, the Bible makes clear that change is possible.
The Lord can do more than we can even imagine, so He can certainly turn our communication patterns around.
Father, please forgive me for the times when I have shut down my spouse by responding in anger. I pray for help to identify times when I do this. Please touch my spouse’s heart so that he or she will be willing to try again.
โฆษณา