19 มิ.ย. เวลา 06:25 • การตลาด
Bangkok, Thailand

Tom Holland Feels Healthier After Struggling With Alcohol Addiction

Tom Holland admits he was once addicted to alcohol. However, he has now stated that he has stopped drinking after a long struggle. While talking on the podcast On Purpose with Jay Shetty, Holland revealed that his efforts to stop drinking alcohol started after last year's Christmas celebrations.
"I didn't wake up one day and say, 'I'm going to give up drinking'. Like most British people, I was very, very drunk in December," said Tom Holland, as reported by People on Monday (10/7).
"It was Christmas and I was on holiday, I drank a lot and I always drink a lot," he continued. "I think I inherited the gene from my mother, I can drink. Then I decided to stop in January."
Tom Holland admitted that January last year was a very difficult time for him because all he could think about was drinking. Until finally he began to realize that he was starting to become addicted to alcohol.
"Wow, maybe I have a bit of a problem with alcohol," he said to himself at the time. "So I punished myself and said, 'I'm going to do it too [quit] in February. I'm going to stop for two months.'
"If I can do it for two months, I can prove to myself that I don't have a problem [with alcohol]," he continued.
Even though he has been away from alcohol for two months, it turns out that Tom Holland still feels exhausted. He started not being able to socialize, especially because the drinking culture in England was so strong.
It was at that point that Holland felt he had truly become an alcoholic. The 27-year-old actor then aims to continue not drinking alcohol for six months, to be precise until his birthday on June 1.
"I told myself, 'If I can get through six months without alcohol, I can prove that I don't have a problem," he said. "When June 1st came, I was the happiest I had been in my life."
Holland even wondered why he was addicted to alcohol. However, after overcoming his alcohol problem, he felt his physical and mental condition gradually improved.
"I can sleep better, I can face problems better," said the actor who plays Spider-Man.
"I can overcome the problems on set that usually annoy me. I have a clearer mentality. I feel healthier, I feel fitter," he explained.
Now Tom Holland has been free from alcohol for 1.5 years. His decision to stop drinking also had an impact on his mother to do the same.
“He loved it and it felt great,” she said. "I can't believe the difference I feel from not drinking. I feel amazing."
โฆษณา